Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Tortoise Health and Vets

Old 11-03-2011, 04:04 PM   #1
kkenny
Sub Adult

Default Gulping

I am very new to my Hermann- George, 2yrs living in a table top with basking spot and UV lamp. He has hemp and toroise calcuim soil mix.

Today (only had him 4 days) he seems to be swallowing or gulping. Not opening his mouth, it appears on a pulse rythmn in his throat area. Is this normal?

I hasnt eaten much yet, few bits of dried dandelion, wont take watercress or kale (only thing I can get just now) my seeds havent grown enough yet to give him.

Any suggestions? I am bathing him every day and I would say he is active with bright eyes.

Oh, he wont drink either, I was expecting him to want to sip occasionally.

Thanks anyone, Karin
kkenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 05:01 PM   #2
Paige Lewis
Hatched

The gulping is just him smelling, as to not seeing him drink, i rarely see mine drink but a water bowl is still important for them to drink if they choose to. Him not eating much could be hi just settling in from the stress of the move to new surroundings, where did you get him from?
Old 11-03-2011, 05:19 PM   #3
Anita Sayles
Sub Adult

Send a message via MSN to Anita Sayles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paige Lewis View Post
The gulping is just him smelling, as to not seeing him drink, i rarely see mine drink but a water bowl is still important for them to drink if they choose to. Him not eating much could be hi just settling in from the stress of the move to new surroundings, where did you get him from?
lol I thought the gulping was because they never had a diaphragm and had to sort of gulp air...
Old 11-03-2011, 05:47 PM   #4
Alan1
Super Moderator
Adult

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkenny View Post
Not opening his mouth, it appears on a pulse rythmn in his throat area. Is this normal?
yes it's normal.

sometimes they can take weeks to eat after getting them home.