Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Closed Thread

Old 16-05-2013, 09:28 PM   #1
Scute Recruit
Egg

Default Your feedback please

Hi, I am new to tortoise keeping and have been reading everything I can get my hands on to try and do it properly.
I would appreciate it if you would take a look at my set up, (albeit new) and give me your feedback as to whether there is something I could be doing better.

At the moment Monty spends the night indoors in his cage where he has a UV light and a heat lamp but these are turned off at night. If it is a cold day he stays indoors all day, spending half the day in his cage and half the day running around the house. He is right next to a radiator and if it is really cold, we have the heating on and he benefits from this heat too.

On good days he goes out in the garden which is large and fenced all around with chicken wire buried under the perimeter and all holes blocked off. There are plenty of weeds and he eats very little from me indoors when he has been out all day.

Don't worry about the dog, he is completely tortoise friendly.

When he wants to get some shelter or go to bed, he has a house with a conservatory on it where he gets tucked up and snug. I intend to leave him out there all night once the weather is warm enough over night but it is still regularly below freezing over night and I am bringing him in.

He is eating well, active and responsive so I think we are doing ok. I am giving him vitamin powder on every feed and I have moved him away from his old owners bad diet and on to garden weeds and grass. If anything I am over protective at the moment, constantly checking on him in the garden and bringing him in if the temperature drops outside. But as I said, I want to do right by the old chap. Any constructive feedback from more experienced keepers would be welcome.
Old 17-05-2013, 01:59 PM   #2
Sheli88
Egg