Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Breeding and Incubation

Old 18-04-2008, 03:11 PM   #1
yakface77
Hatched

Default Mating

Ok,
Im new to mating and am hoping for eggs this year. 2 major questions i need help with
1) Right, i have a nice community of hermanns as in my sig, how do i sort out the environment, shall i put the female 1-1 in seperate honeymoon enclosure for purposes of mating, keep a peek on them and then seperate and put back in group. My horny male is at it all the time and i dont want her to have too much dominance from him.

2) how do i know if the seed has been sown ??????? shall i look for fluid remaining on his tail, any other sign ?
Sorry im realy green at this. have to ask though.
1.1.2 Florida Cooter turtles
0.1.1 Red Eared Slider Turtle
0.1.0 Mississippi Map Turtle
yakface77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2008, 03:28 PM   #2
sandy
Adult

Well I have my male and female iberas together most of the time. I do seperate them from
time to time on the hotter days of he Summer. To give the girls a rest.
As for whether the deed is done, only time will tell. My males are at it most of the time, but in
not so warmer days, they are less ardent.
As for egg laying again it has to be the right time for them, the right temps and soil they like.
Typical females will only play ball when it suits them<g>.

http://groups.yahoo.com/groups/tortoisefriends
sandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2008, 03:57 PM   #3
terrypin
Adult