Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Housing

Old 24-03-2018, 02:46 PM   #1
mattjstar1
Hatchling

Default megaray vs Arcadia D3

Hey guys ive been using the Arcadia d3 160watt for a few years now with no problems but a few people are telling me that the megaray come out on top for a better uv out put whats your thoughts and which lights do you guys prefer use thanks matt xx
mattjstar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2018, 02:00 AM   #2
Ozric Jonathan
Adult

Hi Matt.

Great idea to launch a thread on this.

After falling out of favour with many keepers because of reliability issues etc. some time ago, the MegaRay has been making a come-back. The 100 and 160 watt Mega Ray Solar Raptor lamps made in Germany for the European market have been a success and are considered reliable.

Although Matt has asked about the Mega Ray and Arcadia lamps, it's worth saying in the passing that there are other combined lamps such as the powersun and solarglow. Both of those have low uvb output relative to the Mega Ray and Arcadia and in my opinion not worth buying. (see here for a You Tube review https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s35Z8X55tv4)

I know from other forums that the European MegaRay Raptor combined mvb lamps have a good reputation again but there are issues with the 100 watt USA Mega Ray lamps.

Personally I switched to using T5 Arcadia tubes for uva and uvb with halogens for heat. I reckon the Arcadia tubes are great and they even have a more powerful one than the T5 now, the Dragon, producing a whopping 14% uvb. Also the tubes never blow up and the halogens just go out eventually. But some prefer a combi lamp.