Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Breeding and Incubation

Old 15-10-2014, 02:10 PM   #1
Ozric Jonathan
Adult

Talking Ozric's Hermanni Hermanni breeding project

It's not a question really but I just decided to post something about my little project.

I've been keeping some little hermannis for about 8 years now and all of them were really small when I got them. They were about a year old but from a couple of different sources and on three buying sprees over that time so I've got a spread of sizes and ages.

As anyone who has kept the smaller hermann will tell you, they really are a fair bit smaller than the other sub species. Also mine have mostly been really quite slow in growing but I'm not in any rush.

I have still a bit of an excess of males although a coulpe of them have gone to other keepers. Now I know why people say the females are like gold dust! Nothing would part me from the 3 'big' ladies that I'm hoping will produce a new generation of these lovely tortoises.

The largest one dug a nesting hole this year and I was incredibly excited. I kept a close eye on her as she went about the job. It did take a long time and I had to shout out to my partner to get cups of tea brought out into the garden, as I didn't want to miss anything.

Well after very carefully digging the hole she did a couple of laps of the enclosure and then filled it in without laying anything. I'm told these phantom nests are quite common. But it's a good sign that she is reaching that age when she can reproduce.

I'm not 100% certain that any of my males can actually get the job done right although they have plenty of enthusiasm!

Now the pets are indoors and like many of you I have to grapple with the thorny issue of hibernation. It seems most people agree that the chances of sucessful breeding are increased by hibernating the females. Unlike some keepers I never have any problems keeping them up.