Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Breeding and Incubation

Old 27-03-2013, 04:14 PM   #1
burnt toast
Adult

Question Infrared lamps

A friend knows a lady who says tortoise likes to lay under an infrared lamp. Does anyone else use these or know anything about them please?
burnt toast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 05:12 PM   #2
Gordon
Adult

Ihad one in my greenhouse last year and to be honest they used the ordinary one as much as the infrared one
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 06:26 PM   #3
burnt toast
Adult

What sort was it please Gordon? I keep having visions of the type for backaches Was it one like that & how did you suspend it please?
Old 27-03-2013, 06:56 PM   #4
Gordon
Adult

It was a poultry one and i think it was 250 watts
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 11:09 AM   #5
Levi
Hatched

I've been using them as basic basking lamps for about 20 years, my first was a 250watt my Dad had lying around, he had previously kept his chickens warm with it. Dotty my T.g.ibera loves them. You can get the large farm type in 150 & 250 watts.

They mostly emit 'Near Infra-red' (NIR) and Red Light'. Near Infra-red is just the nearest or closest IR wavelength to visible light, the visible red light they produce is just that red light.

The exact same Near IR lamps I use are used in Near IR Saunas because of the many health benefits associated with NIR wavelengths.

NASA have done research into the use of near-infrared and have found that it promotes wound healing and human tissue growth, they have also researched the treatment of brain tumors and neurofibromatosis.
Certain wavelengths of IR stimulate the basic energy processes in the mitochondria (energy compartments) of every cell, particularly the Near-infra-red wavelengths of light. Different wavelengths of light will penetrate to different depths.