Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 23-08-2015, 10:24 PM   #1
Kathryn C
Egg

Default New horsfield not eating or doing much

Hi,

My daughter brought me a young horsfield yest (2 yrs old)
He's not eating & not active at all, he did come round a little after a soak in tepid water, but spent all day in the shady bit of his table and is still there now, is this normal, I'm a complete novice and would like to get this right? Any advice helpful, thank you
Kathryn C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2015, 04:10 PM   #2
Gordon
Adult

Hello and welcome can you tell us a bit more about your set up ie daytime temps hot and cool end night time temps and where it came from.
They can take a while to settle in.
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2015, 06:34 PM   #3
sandy
Adult

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kathryn C View Post
Hi,

My daughter brought me a young horsfield yest (2 yrs old)
He's not eating & not active at all, he did come round a little after a soak in tepid water, but spent all day in the shady bit of his table and is still there now, is this normal, I'm a complete novice and would like to get this right? Any advice helpful, thank you
If you have had your tortoise less than two weeks, he is probably just settling in.
It can take up to a month to settle down, and the problem that most keepers worry about is not eating. This is definitely not the biggest problem, they can go weeks without food. The important things just now is hydration, this is one of the biggest killers in young tortoises. So bathing every day for the first month is vital. Next is watching your tortoise, making sure their eyes are clear and bright, and their noses are dry.
Temps under the heat sorce should be around 32c. A deep substrate to dig into, and a water dish for drinking. These are the basics.

http://groups.yahoo.com/groups/tortoisefriends