Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 02-01-2018, 02:43 PM   #1
Izar
Egg

Default Heating/lighting query.

Wondering if someone could advise me please as I’m new to this.

Have a 4x2’ table for my Hermann hatchling. I was advised to use the megaray 160w combi bulb.

The optimum height is 16-18” above shell for the correct uv. I have been adjusting the height to get the 30-32c basking spot, but have had to now raise the lamp to 22” from bulb to shell to maintain this temp. When it was at 18” the temp at soil level was reaching 40c so I was worried she would burn herself. My house isn’t overly warm, ant the cool end of the table is a constant 20c during the day.

What am I best doing? I don’t want her getting too hot but am worried she won’t be getting optimum uv now. I could try the 100w combi bulb but the cold end might be too cold. Or am I better adding in some more uv somehow?

TIA.
Izar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 03:53 PM   #2
GemJam
Incubating

Hi Izar,

I also use a combi bulb, but at a lower wattage of 100w. I find this provides a suitable temperature and the correct distance for the UV, so would be worth trying this.

When your tort gets up in the morning, they will be able to monitor and maintain their temperatures, with the option of going to the cool end or basking under the heat and anywhere inbetween.

When I overwindetered my Hermanns, I found that she resisted getting up in the morning, so I used to wake her and put her under the lamp. This was probably due to the room temperature being slightly on the cold side.

I hope this helps. I am no way an expert, hopefully someone with more experience can also advise.

Gemma

1 Hermanns Tortoise - Hettie
GemJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 12:14 PM   #3
CherryBrandy
Adult