Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 02-12-2013, 10:18 PM   #1
hermione
Egg

Default He won't eat!

Hi all, I'm new to being a tortoise owner and I'd really appreciate some advice. I have a little (just!) 5 month old Spur Thighed tortoise (c/o wigwamman!) but he doesn't seem to want to eat! I give him varied lettuce leaves and dandelion leaves but he only seems to eat every other day or every second day.

He's 5.3cm and weighs 22/23g, which gives him a Jackson's Ratio of around 14.8!

He seems to sleep all day, even though his enclosure is 25-35 and he stays near his heat lamp, I have a CHE for nights and its around 20-24 degrees near the bulb.

He's active in his baths and I have seen him drink too, so I'm not too worried about him being dehydrated!

Any advice?! I've fiddled with his temps and I get him out most days if he still hasn't surfaced but I don't feel it's very natural to keep digging him out!

Also, the other day whilst he was having a bath, he started making little croaky noises?! Any ideas on what that is?!
hermione is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 11:41 PM   #2
Alan1
Super Moderator
Adult

It's not unusual for this time of year
Alan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 10:17 AM   #3
Suze65
Adult

How long have you had him ? Cos it can take a few weeks for torts to settle in to a new home and this behaviour can be quite normal. Also it could just be the time of year, tho it sounds like the temps are good, how many hours a day are the lights on for. They need to be on for 12/14 hours a day.

3 THB, Sammy, Jemima, & Phoebe
7 Marginated, Tabitha, Ptolome, Tatiana, Noah,Lottey, Lulu & Poppy
1 TGG (Emma) RIP Feb 2012
Suze65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:19 PM   #4
wigwamman
Juvenile

Quote:
Originally Posted by hermione View Post