Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Edible Weeds, Diet & Suppliments

Old 20-11-2010, 08:15 AM   #1
Cre
Incubating

Default Just a couple of feeding questions

Alfred has only been with me since Tuesday so I am a beginner at this. I have tried feeding him dandilion leaves, grass, weeds, teeny bit of grated carrot, teeny bit of tomato and 1/4 of a grape, he had not eaten anything except the grape but last night he did eat a flat lettuce leaf...quite quickly so he must have been starving! He has been pooping ok (in his water bowl lol) and is incredibly active . I am going to try shredding the weeds and mixing them with a bit of lettuce and sprinkling it with powder to see if that works.
Have you any other ideas? I dont want a fussy tortoise!
At the moment he is in a large plastic hamster cage with a 160w heat lamp/uv bulb so think I am doing everything right. His new tortoise table should be coming today.
Cre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2010, 02:03 PM   #2
TortBabe
Adult

Hi Cre, it may take Alfie a little time to settle into his home. A few of mine did not eat for a few weeks after arriving. Hydration is the most important thing, if you bath him in lukewarm water for around 15 minutes twice a day it may encourage himto eat a little. Check out the edible weeds section for a guide on what to feed, grape and tomato are not good for him tbh. There still are a few weeds around. A lot of owners feed crispy florette and baby leaf salad in the winter, another good site is the tortoise table, and the tortoise trust site have a really helpful article on winter feeding. I hope this has helped, don't worry too much he will get there in the end
Old 20-11-2010, 03:05 PM   #3
Cre
Incubating