Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Non Med Species - Information & Questions

Old 01-04-2007, 11:22 AM   #1
fourtorts
Incubating

Default care of redfoots

hi I have two redfoots.. They are eight yrs old and called basil and willie. They weigh around 2.3kgs and 2.1 kgs. They are very tame and curious boys with lots of charachter....When i purchased them they weighed 800 and 600 gms. I have had them for three years and their weight gain has been consistant. I am still learning as I go as I had never owned a tort before and the only advice I was given from the shop where i purchased them was to give them spring greens and bath them every day (pretty damn digusting!!). I got on the internet and have gleaned info where i could ..
In the spring/summer I feed them on weeds, flowers and fruit and a little protein once a week eg a little cooked chicken breast or low fat dried cat food soaked in water.
During the winter I substitute weeds with romaine lettuce, mixed herb salad, watercress, rocket salad, spring greens or kale (only a little) from supermarkets. At all times I alternate on a daily basis nutrobal and limestone flour.
Could someone give me input and advice on my torts diet as I want to give them the best possible diet
fourtorts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 12:21 PM   #2
sarah
Administrator
Adult

Seems like you have a pretty good diet to me. How do you house your tortoises? Have you any pictures?

STRUGGLING TO FIND WEEDS? LOOK AT OUR DRIED WEEDS 'READY TO FEED'

Home of 'Grow Your Own Food' Bearded Dragon, Tortoise, Rabbit, Hamster seed mixes from 89p FREE POST
Livefood, Thermostats, Housing, Heating, Mercury Vapour bulbs, UVB etc etc CHEAP PRICES
TORTOISES ARE MY PASSION
sarah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 12:43 PM   #3
fourtorts
Incubating

hi sarah thanks for replying...