Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Off Topic > Introduce Yourself

Old 26-12-2008, 12:19 PM   #1
Hilary
Incubating

Default Another newbie (& Happy Christmas)

Hi
Just joined, but been looking for the last few days.
We bought a couple of Tortys last year (not sure but think they are Hermans or Horsfields - perhaps I'll put some photys on & some kind person can elnlighten us - also we were told they were girls but now think they may be boys).
My husband had had a torty for about 40 yrs, from when he was a baby (so he wasnt the primary carer - his Dad was), so we thought we weren't complete beginners, but as this was already adult, we had never had babies before.

Dont scream at us but:
We were told by the shop to keep them in a vivarium, with wood based cat litter substrate, & feed them lettuce & fruit. We were also told not to let them hibernate for a couple of years (they were supposedly about a year old, born in Britain, but they didnt give us any kind of certificate). As we had a 3 ft fish tank spare they sold us an underfloor heat pad & a reptile UV tube for the lid.

They seem to be healthy (the vet checked them out & said they seemed fine), but we noticed lately that the shells were a bit lumpy. Searching the web we found the site & think we have the beginnings of pyramiding.

So, we have had a radical re-think of what we have been doing:
The fish tank is gone.
Timmy & Tommy are now in a big Guineapig/rabbit cage (120x60cm) to make a tortoise table - doubled their play space for exercise.
Substrate is sterilised topsoil - now they can dig & bury each other.
We also put in areas of pebbles and small rocks to help keep the nails trimmed down (they looked a bit long).
Underfloor heating is gone, replaced with an overhead heat lamp at one end of the cage, but the UV tube is still attached.
The lettuce has been replaced with the mixed salad leaf supermarket bags, but we have also planted some winter pansies in the play run.