Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 03-06-2007, 09:17 PM   #1
Shazza4505
Hatched

Send a message via Yahoo to Shazza4505
Default 50 yr old tort

A friend may be rehoming a 50 y.o. herman.
It has always been a garden tort, never had a heat lamp etc.

As i am new to torts, and my horsefield is young, i am unable to advise.

Should Katie introduce it to a heat lamp? Or can she continue as the old owners had it? Any advice would be fab and gratefully passed on.
Shazza4505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 09:25 PM   #2
jadums
Egg

Hi

Personally I wouldnt introduce it to a heat lamp now, especially during the summer. I have younger hermanns (1yr - 13yrs) and the 4yr old + all sleep outside day and night with no lights on at anytime. in January I rehomed 3 70yr old iberas. Obvioulsy they were woken from hibernation and so they had to be kept inside untill the weather got better and warmer. Since March they have lived outside day and night. They sleep in a wooden coldframe with soil/sand base and then about foot and a half of hemp (aubiose) so they can bury down at night.

They are perfectly happy. They eat every day and march round the garden grazing. I have to get them out of bed some mornings as they just sit in the doorway watching the wrold go by :P but as soon as they are outside they march around. On rainy days I open the door but they rarely come out. This is becaus eit snot warm enough. However, when I got them and had to house them inside they rarely ate. I ad uv and heat lights for them and they hated it. They looked really depressed as they had always lived outside.

So no I wouldnt use heat lamps I would try and replicate their living style the same as the previous owners so as not to cause too much stress. If the diet was wrong then I would change that.
Old 03-06-2007, 09:41 PM   #3
Pussygalore
Adult