Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Housing

Old 27-04-2017, 04:33 PM   #1
Emmillie
Egg

Default Newbie needs help please!!

Hi all, i'm new to this forum and would appreciate some advice please. Ive read a lot of different opinions on the best substrate to use with my torty. Alot of people have used the Graded top soil from wickes, is it a good substrate to use and would i need to put anything i.e sand with it? Ill add a picture of the soil ive found, can someone please advise me wheather it's the right one or not. How would i go about adding water to it also? Just around the edge underneath or all over? As you can probably tell, i'm new to tortoise keeping and ive been given so much contredictive advice, im a bit confused. Thank you in advance. Em.

Emmillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2017, 09:47 PM   #2
CherryBrandy
Adult

Welcome Em, you have come to the right place for informed decision making. Your photo didn't update but don't worry as you will have to do 5 posts til it goes straight through without time delays. Do you know the species of tortoise you have ? most use top soil or coco coir but depends on species and that in turn dictates humidity - usually achieved with a warm plant spray or humid hide , or micro climate under basking spot...CB
Old 28-04-2017, 09:59 PM   #3
Emmillie
Egg

Hi cherry,
I have a horsfields tortoise, i'm going to get some graded top soil tomorrow to go into Flash's (tortoise )new table. I'm upgrading the size of the table. Ive got a hygrometer in with Flash and it's showing 56 is that good? Thank you for your reply
Old 29-04-2017, 04:55 PM   #4
Suze65
Adult