Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 03-03-2014, 02:02 PM   #1
fairywings75781
Egg

Default Hi - Newbie here

Hi All

My name is Tania and I have recently (last week) acquired a young (approx 1 year old) Horsfield Tortoise. We believe it's a female and I have called her Esme.

I found her on a Facebook selling page. I have been been interested in having a tortoise for sometime after having one as a child. I was told she came with everything she would need. When I collected her she had a dog chewed "table", a bag of soil from the garden (I know this because the man told me he dug it up from there), a normal desk with a normal bulb in it. The seller told me she did not need a special lamp. The seller did not give me any food for her as he had run out of salad. I realise that this is probably not the ideal scenario for buying a tortoise but I am determined to provide her with the best home possible. For the first few days we kept her in an old, empty drawer still using the desk lamp while I researched and ordered the necessary equipment.
At the weekend we moved her in to her new indoor home and all has gone well apart from a problem with the new lamp bulb. I ordered this one:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
but basically it keeps going out, flickering and buzzing. Amazon are refunding me and I have now ordered this one instead:
http://www.bluelizardreptiles.co.uk/...s/844046003850

This is Esme in her temporary home:

and now in her new home:

A couple more pics of her:

I have been reading about pyramiding - do you think she has this?

I am in the process of now growing weeds for her and also gathering materials for an outside habitat for her as well. So far I have purchased some border logs and a cold frame the same as this:

Will she be ok in the garden enclosure without an electric heating source? I was planning on bringing her in at night.