Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Edible Weeds, Diet & Suppliments

Old 30-06-2006, 08:16 PM   #1
Tomatillo
Egg

Default Opuntia cacti growers

Hi there
I was wondering if the tort keepers who grow opuntia cacti for their tortoises could give me some advice about how I go about propagating my plants? I bought four of them earlier in the Spring and they have two pads each with a small third pad just beginning to bud and are about 4 inches tall . Also roughly how long does it take to get decent sized plants to start harvesting from ?. Thanks
Old 01-07-2006, 11:24 AM   #2
Puncture.uk
Egg

Hi,

Opuntia is pretty easy to grow... I have been colleting / growing cacti for about 20 years now and have never taken it too seriously - my plants just seem to do well! Put your plants on a sunny windowsill (South facing if you can) but if it is really fierce sunshine you might consider putting them outside for the day (might scorch the plants if it is too hot throught he glass) I only every water my cacti maybe once or twice every week.. if you can find a aerosol top (such as a Lynx can or something) you can use that as a guide to how much water to give (One top-full per plant per week) Obviously this will change depending on the size of plant but would be okay for the O. Microdasys plant pictured. If you have a pencil or something handy it may be a good idea just to 'prick' the soil top-layer prior to watering, this helps the water escape below quickly and avoids it evaporating in hot conditions.