Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Ask The Experts > Identification/Sexing.

Old 16-01-2007, 08:49 PM   #1
nick owen
Egg

Default Sub Species and Temp

I have recently noticed since putting Milly and Mikey in there new enclosure that Mikey seems to be showing typical Tort behaviour in moving too and from hot section to regulate is temp. He is apparently 'hermanni boettgeri' according to a previous post on another forum. Milly pretty much just stays in the basking area apart from when eating - she is the 'hermanni hercegovensis'(a failry new and unknown sub species). She is an inch or so bigger than Mikey which could be down to coincidence rather than her been this sub species but what I was wondering is, could she have different temperature requirements because of this??? I only ask as one interprutation of her always basking could be that she isn't quite hot enough...

I know absolutely nothing about this sub species and I am relatively new to Tort keeping as a whole. I was sold Milly and Mikey as a pair although I've now been told that they may need to be separated due to Milly been one of these sub species. Any info would be greatly appreciated. I was told that someone on hear actually keeps some of these sub species of tortoise and so is pretty knowledgable on the subject. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Nick.
nick owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2007, 08:55 PM   #2
niamherrity
Adult

Default welcome!

Hi nick you will need to put up some pics i can't help you ,but i'm sure someone will
niamherrity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2007, 09:01 PM   #3
egyptiandan64
Super Moderator
Adult

Hi Nick,