Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Non Med Species - Information & Questions

Old 10-05-2009, 03:38 PM   #1
YummyMummy04
Hatched

Default Bit cross some advice please...

Hello

A "friend" brought a tortoise last week after seeing mine and thinking how cute they are! Did no research obviously a impulse buy

They phoned today as their tort is now lookin really poorly plus the novelty has worn off and they have spent money they can ill afford setting it all up and now need the money back now! They have asked me to go round and have a look.

Been round and they have they cutest tiniest tort. It was in a tiny viv with loads veg and fruit! On hemp. I was bl00dy fuming as they have seen my set up!

Anyway they said the tort is a Giant african spur thigh?? I am no pro with torts as you know but even i know if this is right he will be huge! They have NO garden either??

I have brought the Tort home with me (told em to stick the viv on EBay or somewhere else!) and have now got my husband and son making a Tort table and i have gone out and brought another set of lights etc this afternoon.

I have just given him a bath as they havent ever given him one and his shell is peeling. There is clear flakes all in the water! Is this ok or should i be worried??

He is only 2 months old and is tiny and weighs 35 gms. They have had him less than a week.

I am not sure long term if i can keep him my husband and i are going to sit down tonight and talk about it but if i had left him there or let them sell him on to another person who wants one for the novelty value especially if it is a giant spur thigh. I would rather find him a really good experinced home or if we can financially and space wise we may keep him.

I hope i have done the right thing. Has anyone any experience with this breed as i have had a quick look on the net but cant find a lot about the giant breed.