Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 11-03-2011, 04:39 PM   #1
derrick0312
Incubating

Smile Beginner - Calcium problem!!

Hi all, I am new to the whole tortoise community and this is my first ever post!!

I am about to get my first ever Hermann baby tortoise in the next 3-4 weeks [can't wait!!! ]. As a total beginner, I have been reading a lot in the past few months so I won't be too clueless when I finally get it.

So, here's my question:-

I have been reading a lot on the calcium requirement for tortoises - but is there any chance of us giving TOO MUCH calcium? The breeder I talked to suggest me to get reptavile and calcium carbonate to include in their diet. However, after reading that Nutrobal are better for baby tortoise, I want to use Nutrobal instead. Am I right that Nutrobal got more calcium than reptavile? Do i still need to spray calcium on the food?

I also want to give my tortoise a cuttlebone (going to buy 'turtlebone') so it can wear the beak down.

I have heard a lot about pyramiding - although too much protein is the main cause for it, will it also happen if I supply the tortoise with too much calcium?
derrick0312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 06:34 PM   #2
Alan1
Super Moderator
Adult

hello and welcome. there's very little chance of overdosing.

nutrobal is for young torts and has more calcium than reptavite I think.

too much calcium won't cause pyramiding.

cuttlefish bone is good and about 80% calcium I think.

limestone flour (calcium carbonate) is 100% calcium I think.

the flour can be put in a dish and they can help themselves. cuttlefish bone is best wetted every other day I find, they become disinterested in it otherwise.

the limestone flour can also be sprinkled on the food but that way you are dictating how much they get rather than them choosing how much they want
Alan1 is offline   Reply With Quote