Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Non Med Species - Information & Questions

Old 12-01-2014, 03:20 PM   #1
egyptiandan64
Super Moderator
Adult

Default Experiences with raising Kinixys

This is from Radiata, vol. 17 #1 2008 February

Experiences with the raising of the juveniles of several species of Kinixys

by Bernd Wolff

I have been keeping various species of the genus Kinixys for more than ten years. This period did not always see me succeeding with the husbandry and breeding of these animals. There were several setbacks in the keeping of adult and especially subadult specimens. In the present paper I would like to describe mainly my experiences with the raising of juveniles that hatched in my collection and subadult specimens representing the Kinixys belliana complex.
I obtained hatchlings of Kinixys belliana nogueyi and Kinixys spekii in the shape of offspring from adult specimens in my collection. Furthermore, I was able on various occasions to acquire two to three week old babies of Kinixys belliana belliana that originated from a ranching project in Tanzania. This propagation project was an attempt to curb the unchecked collection of specimens from the wild. Critics will now surely reply that the breeding animals used for this purpose are certainly wild caught. This is of course true enough but they produce offspring that are strictly monitored by authorities on a regular basis. In this regard they do not differ from today's many breeding groups of Testudo in human care whose founder stocks were imported from individual parts of their natural distribution range some time ago. The major difference is that the hinge-backed tortoises in Tanzania are kept within their natural distribution range and thus within their natural climatic zone. Therefore they continue to live in a near natural enviroment.