Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 28-07-2006, 05:22 PM   #1
Pitcorthie
Hatched

Default Do tortoises prefer company?

Just wondered if tortoises are better with the company of another tortoise.Do they get lonely or are they not really bothered?
If you had two but later found that they were male & female would you need to seperate them all the time or is there a mating season? Do tortoises lay eggs even if they are not with a male like aquatic turtles? Sorry if these questions sound daft but I am a beginner

Sharon
Pitcorthie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2006, 05:37 PM   #2
carl20
Hatchling

hi i understand that tortoises prefer to be alone. Also they do lay infertile eggs and they will **** whenever they get randy
Old 28-07-2006, 05:39 PM   #3
shootinglou79
Sub Adult

lol carl i think you mean s***g as theres kids on ere :P
shootinglou79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2006, 05:40 PM   #4
Becks
Adult

Linz i just sorted that 1 out

horsfields ,redfoots ,southern and northan morrocans,
map turtle .

http://www.redfoottortoiseplace.piczo.com
Becks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2006, 05:41 PM   #5
shootinglou79
Sub Adult

gd one hun x
shootinglou79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2006, 05:54 PM   #6
Becks
Adult

torts can live together but dont really need to and are very happy alone ..
if u did have a male and female you would have to think about space ect needed if the male would not leave the female alone.
as a male going on and on at her could stress her out ..
and yes a female can lay even tho there is not a male presant and produce infertile eggs but this does not happen oftern so ive been told ..usually it's an older females hat has been with a male at somepoint ..
hope that helps
becks xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

horsfields ,redfoots ,southern and northan morrocans,
map turtle .

http://www.redfoottortoiseplace.piczo.com