Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Breeding and Incubation

Old 24-11-2013, 04:10 PM   #1
Hanako
Hatchling

Default Help!!! - my first eggs - unexpected

Hi,
My biggest girl has just laid 3 eggs. I have no experience with that and nothing ready. Can anyone advise, please.

I carefully dug them out and placed them on a bowl on damp soil in warm drying cabinet. I haven't expected it so I have nothing ready. I have ordered incubator and vermiculite. I wasn't sure if I need fine or course so I ordered both. Which one are you using?

Do you think the eggs will survive for a few days before the incubator arrives? The cabinet is pretty warm, the temperature is around 30 degrees.
When the incubator arrives (hopefully it won't be too difficult to set up), if I understand correctly I want to put the eggs onto the vermicullite and stick it in and that's it? The vermicullite - should it be wet, dry or just damp? The eggs, should they be laying on top of the vermicullite, or be half covered or fully covered? If I remember from reading the posts, I should put there a bowl with water to make it more humid? How humid it needs to be?

Why are we using vermicullite and no soil or any other substrate?
Is there anything I should know that I didn't mention? (If I didn't mention it, I probably don't know it so please advise even things that seem to you pretty obvious.) It feels so exciting, but also quite panicky. If I make mistake and the eggs don't work out, I will feel bad that poor girl has made so much effort and I have messed up.

Who would have though that 1100 grams girl can get pregnant from 250 grams boy. He is not even a quarter of her!

Not sure why but I thought that eggs are usually coming in the spring/summer/ early autumn, not this time of the year.

Thank you very much for your help!
Hanako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2013, 05:42 PM   #2
sandy
Adult

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanako View Post
Hi,