Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Housing

Old 16-08-2007, 01:03 AM   #1
midi-mania
Sub Adult

Send a message via MSN to midi-mania
Default my hermans house

rite im quite new to tortoises (had one for 2year at my dads but then after one year i went to live with my mom and now after a year im back with my dad)
i have been reading all the advise on this website scince about 9oclock (its 00:47)
i live in a vilage called rainford (near liverpool)
and i am rather confused about my setup
i have a 2ft by 1ft viv, it has sliding doors (normaly slightly open) and it also has a load of drilled holes in the wooder panel (the roof that my dad made to fit lights etc)
i have a habistat set to 84f and a uvlight, i turn the uv off of a night and i turn the temp down a bit too to about 60f the habistat has a ceramic bulb
i have a water bowl in the tank and i have a peice of slate (with the heater above it) and the bedding is bech chippings i think, its from pets at home anyway
she doesnt have a house at the moment because she had a ceramic one but got too big and then she got a TEMPORARY carbord one and then we went on holiday to wales for a week and took her with us (had a dehumidifier in the room (its a realy old cottage getting renovated))
and we went out for a pub meal and when we came back she had pushed the house onto the heat bulb which had burnt the cardbord
so she doesnt have one atm
she is in a room alone apart from a canery and about 105 stick insects
on hot days (not had meany recently) she goes outside in her pen which has shade in it and its on the lawn so food too. oh and also she has another waterbowl outside incase she gets too hot or gets thirsty.
is this a good set up?

oh and she also eats clovers, dandilions, grass, plantains (if any are around), cucumber and everything in a italian salad (from tesco)