Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 17-05-2008, 09:51 AM   #1
janeL
Sub Adult

Default small craft business question

Hi all, I have been selling my hand made cards adn paintings etc for about five years at craft fayres etc... Today I have set my niece and her friend up at a fayer (extra pocket money they love it) and I am dong another in a couple of hours at a coffee morning. I make a reasonable amount from it (wich is of course declared). My niece just rang me as a lady with three shops approached her asking to sell my stuff in her four shops. Now I have to admitt I have always shyed away from this as I don't know how it works but I am thinking the extra money would be a god send right now. With a fayre you pay for you pitch, job done!

My question is how do I do this? Do I offer her a percentage of what she sells? If so how much? Is 5% / 10%/ the norm? Or can I get away with less. My niece said she gave the lady my contact details and said to ring late this afternonn.

Please Help!!!!

Hermanns THB 2:3:0
Algerian TGG 1.2.3
Ibera TGI 0.1.0[/CENTER]
janeL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2008, 10:00 AM   #2
fourtorts
Incubating

I think that you will find that when you contact the shop owners they will have their own ideas on how they want to do business with you. I think the norm is to give them a percentage of your sales. I am sure you will come to some arrangement. but don't sell yourself short, make sure they don't take too much of your profit. I'm not sure what sort of percentage is acceptable but I wouldn't want to lose more than 40% of my sales. Don't be afraid to negotiate with them. eg. If they ask for 35% you say 30%. Ask for time to think about it and wait until you have spoken to all 3 shops and take the best deal.
Hope this helps
Lynne

my doggy daycare web

http://www.littledoggydaycare.co.uk/index.php
fourtorts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2008, 10:03 AM   #3
fourtorts