Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 05-06-2017, 04:53 PM   #1
Loagsmum
Egg

Unhappy RI in my baby spur thighed tort

Hello, this is my first time here as I am a little worried about my small one, s/he is 8 months and we have had him for 5 weeks and he is fed on weeds, crispy mix with a little watercress. His substrate is tortoise life med and he has a full spec Arcadia lamp (warm side 90-95)
He is eating and toileting as normal but has been squeaking and today had a bubble from his nose, he saw the vet 2 weeks ago for an initial check over that seemed normal and so he went back today the vet has said he seemed ok but as I saw a bubble has given us antibiotics
What else can I do to help this?
Loagsmum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 09:20 PM   #2
Merlin M
Adult

Had he been eating ir drinking right before the bubble?

Generally it is advisable to keep up the temps overnight when on antibiotics to help them work.

About all the advice I can give, but good luck hope he is ok!
Merlin M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 09:29 PM   #3
Loagsmum
Egg

Hi, thank you for your reply, he had been eating but truth be told isn't as much of a drinker. I have put the temps up in his house,
M
Old 06-06-2017, 08:52 PM   #4
CherryBrandy
Adult

sorry to hear this. Bubbles are an indicator all is not well. 90 - 95 is far too high for a longer sustained heat (basking), you need to aim for 87 - 89 which is 30 - 32 degrees and keep some humidity in the area. Aim around 65 - 68 %.