Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions

Old 19-04-2013, 03:59 PM   #1
keithbrawn
Egg

Default Unhappy Hermanns

Hi,
I'm a newbie and looking for help. We got a couple of 10 month old Hermanns 5 days ago. They had been reared in a vivarium at a constant temperature of 80F (27C). I have set a tortoise table up so that it is 30C ish under the basking lamp and about 22C at the other end so they can choose where they feel comfortable. I have the basking lamp on for about 12 hours a day. They won't come out from under the straw I've put at the cool end and I can only get them to eat by taking them out from under the straw and putting leaves in front of them. For the first 24 hours one of them went into the covered area which is furthest from the light and stayed there. I eventually took it out of there and blocked off that area because the tortoise shell was cold to the touch.
They are generally lethargic and don't seem happy at all. I guess that the change of environment was traumatic for them but shouldn't they have settled down a bit by now ? What am I doing wrong?
Hope someone can help.
keithbrawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2013, 11:17 PM   #2
egyptiandan64
Super Moderator
Adult

Try 25c for the cool end and 34c under the basking lamp. How cool are you getting at night?

Danny
Old 20-04-2013, 08:38 AM   #3
kazzabb
Hatched