Shelled Warriors Forums

Go Back   Shelled Warriors Forums > Tortoise Information > Evolving Husbandry

Closed Thread

Old 21-12-2010, 10:12 PM   #1
Kirkie
Adult

Default Pre Alpin Testudo

As requested...

Lets start with an old chestnut....I've been keeping reptiles and amphibians for 30 years. I've always tried to make the captive experience as realistic to nature as possible. That’s that out of the way.

My interest in the Pre Alpin Testudo products started about four years ago via a "discussion" between Andy Highfield and Ed Pirog on the old Tortoise Trust Yahoo group. In 2006 I read Holger Vetters book on Hermanns tortoises and again, Pre Alpin was mentioned.
I became interested in the annual feeding cycles of Hermanns tortoises. The spring glut, the dry summer, the autumn plant regrowth. I noticed that my tortoises would happily forage on dried summer plants in their enclosure. Then I read Wolfgang Wegehaute’s book on Hermanns tortoises which spoke of an annual cycle and the feeding of dried plants for periods of the summer.

I've spent a couple of years allowing the outdoor enclosures to dry out and collecting dried weeds as well as preparing some of my own from fresh weeds collected in the spring. I also began adding chopped redigrass to my feeds.

I finally got hold of some Pre Alpin Testudo in March, around the time the tortoises exited hibernation. Initially I used small amounts mixed with the main diet, this was readily accepted by my Hermann’s. Come summer, I was offering Pre Alpin Testudo products as a main meal both pre soaked cobs and the dried "fibre" product. I continued to offer it right up until the tortoises entered hibernation.