Shelled Warriors Forums

Shelled Warriors Forums (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   outside worries ! (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=22978)

3lli3 xx 28-12-2008 05:16 PM

outside worries !

hi, just wondering little jasper is only 6 months and i am in th e process of getting him an outdoor enclosure i am still new to all this so just wondering when is it alright to take him out?, can he eat the grass?, i am just a bit confused as i have seen some peeps posting pics of their torts out in the winter , is this good? altough it might be different considering mine is still a hatchling. Please note this enclosure is not perminent it has all the torts needs but is just for a play in not an over night job!:?::?::?:

TortMad 28-12-2008 05:42 PM

I would wait now until spring arrives and it starts to warm up. I have had my torts out lately, but my guys are quite big so can cope with the cold much better than a hatchling

sandy 28-12-2008 05:47 PM

If he/she is a horsfield or med tortoise, then its far too cold outside this time of the year. You have to wait until the Spring, if we get one:)
Provided he/she has shelter, and an escape proof enclosure then they can stay outside 24/7 from May onwards depending where you live. If up north then they can go out from the end of May onwards.

Kirkie 28-12-2008 05:48 PM

I think most of the pictures you'll see of torts outside are going to be non Med species, Leopards and the like. These will have heating available to allow them to reach sufficient body temperature so they can wander outside. I wouldn't take a youngster like your's out until a warm spring day at the earliest.

Seems a long way off at the moment doesn't it :(

Mrs Frog 28-12-2008 05:56 PM