Shelled Warriors Forums

Shelled Warriors Forums (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Hi! (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=74318)

Dr Cooper 11-01-2017 07:39 PM

Hi!

My name's Paul, and my wife Lin and I introduced our 13 year old testudo graeca to our home in Gloucester last September. His name is Dr Cooper (the breeder thought that Sheldon was too common).

He's currently hibernating. When he wakes up he's bound to be hungry.

I bought a "Luxury Tortoise Seed Pack" from Shelled Warriors as we'd like to grow as much of Dr Cooper's food as possible. We've cleared a raised veg patch in readiness.

This initial buy is an experiment to see how we get on. Our plan is to start seeds off in a propagator and them plant them out to the veg bed when they're strong enough. The seeds will be planted at weekly intervals to ensure a steady supply.

As I'm new to growing weeds - on purpose anyway - what's the earliest I can plant the seeds in a propagator? We're working on an assumption that Dr Cooper will wake up in March, so it'd be nice to have some fresh, home grown weeds for him by then.

Thanks in advance
Paul

Ozric Jonathan 12-01-2017 12:27 AM

Hi Paul and a big welcome to you and Dr Cooper.

Sorry I can't help with the propagator question - I did buy one but never got round to doing anything with it!

I have raised plants from seeds though and it seems to take for ever to get them to a decent size. I switched to buying little plants and growing them on which worked better for me.

tortydat 12-01-2017 08:59 AM

It's going to depend where you grow on your plants once they have germinated. My weeds grow on well in an unheated greenhouse from about March onwards but it depends on the temperature and they also need longer periods of daylight to do well also.

Suze65 12-01-2017 11:54 AM