Shelled Warriors Forums

Shelled Warriors Forums (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Mediterranean Tortoises - Information & Questions (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Hermanni Hermanni Breeders (http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=36635)

robertsutton1978 03-07-2010 06:24 PM

Hermanni Hermanni Breeders

Hello All
This is my first post and I was wondering if anyone can help me ?
I've decided to get a tortoise after wanting one for years, I'm totally new to this, although I have kept 2 red eared terrapins for over 20 years now.
After researching for a few months I've decided on a Hermanns, Hermanni Hermanni.
However the only dealers I've found are up in Scotland or Norfolk.
As I'm in Coventry this is quite a trek. Does anybody on here know of any breeders more local ? I have seen so called 'breeders' selling via the internet, but I want to get one from a proper breeder.
Also would you agree with my choice ? The main reason I picked it was that it appeared to be a good beginers tortoise that dosen't grow to a large size.

Sorry for the long post, but any help would be much appreciated.
Cheers
Rob

Bindi 03-07-2010 07:01 PM

Hi Rob, and welcome to SW!

Hermanni hermanni are charming tortoises and you're right in thinking they do not grow to a particularly large size. However, i think you'll find that finding true Hermanni hermanni is quite a problem in itself. Most breeders of this relatively uncommon sub-species of Hermans tend to keep the hatchlings to grow on and breed from themselves to preserve the line.

Any subspecies of Hermans ae a good beginner tort (if there is one!) as are Mediterranean Spur Thighs (Testudo graeca Ibera) I've been told that Hermans have managed to adapt the best to the UK climate.

I would also like to say well done for intending to buy from a UK breeder, rather than on-line or from a petshop.