PDA

View Full Version : help turtle found in road - need id and advice

fourtorts
12-05-2007, 01:40 PM
I am posting for a lady who has rung me as she has found a turtle (i think it is ) in the road and needs help on what it is and how to care for it whilst she is trying to find the owner. I would very much appreciate someone contacting her if you pm me I can give you her email address or phone number.
Hope someone can help heres the pics looks a nice fella....
http://upload8.postimage.org/308132/fred11052007003.jpg (http://upload8.postimage.org/308132/photo_hosting.html)

egyptiandan64
12-05-2007, 01:47 PM
Hi Lynne,
Your friend has found a female Red-eared slider :D

Danny

fourtorts
12-05-2007, 02:28 PM
thanx dan... is there anyone in uk who is willing to contact mandy with help on feeding and housing

bruceleetortoise
12-05-2007, 05:48 PM
im quite sure it is a red eared slider aka a terrapin, i am not an expert although i did have a few of these at one time i would happily try and give her some advice.

they should be in a fairly decent sized tank, 10gallons for every inch on shell, and should also have an area they can come out of the water should they want to, also should have a basking light over this area, and also a uv light.
she will be able to buy turtle pellets from any petshop, feed these to the turtle, and fish, meat, prawns, and maybe some veg could also be fed to it also.

pm me should you require anymore info..

fourtorts
12-05-2007, 06:48 PM
thanx very much darren.. I'll pass on the info, The lady has put it in her pond this pm, she took the fish out though because I thought it would eat them.
I told her about this site and she is currently awaiting access. She has never had anything to do with turtles and I only know about torts. It is being kept in her conservatory at the moment.

bruceleetortoise
12-05-2007, 08:18 PM
yes chances are it would eat her fish, so if she doesnt want to lose them put them somewere else ot put the turtle somewere else!!