PDA

View Full Version : Complete newbie questions! Can you help?

makuk
13-12-2007, 05:10 PM
Hello everyone, I am new to this great informative site, had a little read around whilst waiting for my account to be activated.

My wife has been pestering me for months to by her a tortoise, so I decided to buy her one for xmas, now I fully understand the phrase a tortoise is for life and not just for xmas, but I can assure you it will be well cared for.

Now for the questions (I have yet to buy one, only a few days left)

1. Where do I buy it from, I have seen the links at the top of google when I do a search and spoke to a few companies who said they can deliver to me before xmas, who would you recommend? The prices vary greatly.

2. Which one do I buy a herman, or the other one, can't remember the name!

3. What should I buy it to eat to see both me and it (the tortoise) through to xmas when I hand it over (thank god!), I have to look after it for a few days before the Mrs gets it, so what should I feed it until I hand it over? By the way, do they like chocolate?

4. Should I buy 1 or 2, will 1 get lonely on its own? Would 2 be happier rather than 1 on its own? If I buy 2, should I buy some sort of sports equipmet for them to play with like a table tennis ball etc?

5. How often should the UV lamp be left on for them, if I put a switch inside his home, would he be able to switch the lamp off himself when he has had enough?

I think that was all the questions I had for now but if anyone has any more ideas, please let me know.

I found this site thrugh a ebay advert so I would like to buy some bits for Mr Majeka (That's going to be the tortoises name!)from that seller, as a thank you for a great forum.

Thanks for your help everyone:-)

tortoiseboy
13-12-2007, 05:14 PM
Ok ill try and answer.
1. if they deliver them through the post, thats bad. try and get one bred in the uk
2.hermanns are my favourite but there all good
3. feed them weeds or lettuce. LOL choc isent great